It’s lonely here amidst the cane
Which stands in timeless rows.
So quiet here, that once again
The voices start to grow.

I hear their shouts, the call to war.
And with them creeps in fear.
Though deaf, so that I bear no more,
I clap hands over ears.

Life is long, almost too long.
I’m weary of these shoes.
I’m tired now of being strong;
Too easily I bruise.

Too tired now to hold the fight,
The reins of peace to bear.
I shrink to think of coming night
And crumple into prayer.

Life is long, almost too long.
But rise again I will
And with resolve I’ll stand ‘gainst wrong
Until my heart lies still.

And with resolve I’ll stand ‘gainst wrong
Until my heart lies still.

 

**********************************************************

Writing 201: Poetry
Assignment — Day 6:

Prompt: Hero
Form: Ballad
Device: Anaphora/Epistrophe

This poem is dedicated to one of my biggest heroes:
Chief (Inkosi) Albert John Luthuli (also known by his Zulu name: Mvumbi).  He was born in 1898 and died in 1967.  He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1960 for his contribution to the non-violent struggle against apartheid in South Africa.  He was a school teacher and  principal.  He was a lay preacher.  He was an author (“Let My People Go“).  He joined the ANC and rose through the ranks to become its leader.  He argued with some of his closest friends who wanted to arm the struggle.  In 1966 US Senator Robert F Kennedy came to South Africa to visit him.  His entire life was dedicated to the good of others.  He was a man of peace.

