I was shocked
by your hostility.

“Prayer! 


Right! 


That’s about as useful
as air conditioning on a motorcycle!”

Although they were supposedly meant
for the ears of one,
you flung those words across the room with venom,
slapping quite a few colleagues in the face,
raising eyebrows and lowering the heads of others.

The force of the delivery stunned us all.

And it made me wonder:

What happened in your life to make you so angry?

In my evening reflection,
with you on my heart,
I bowed my head
and lifted you to the Lord
in prayer.

 

*************************************************************************************

glopo2017button1

Day Twenty-One: Write a poem that incorporates overheard speech.

 

*************************************************************************************

