Takes brains, you say, to go against the rules,
buck the system and stand against the imagined divine.
“Irrational, unscientific, the nightcap of fools.”
You quote Hawking and Dawkins and with them align.
You are a wild predator, sights on me. Why?
To disprove what you say you can never receive?
The path is well signposted though the travellers few.
Why does it bother you, to see that I
have faith and purpose, that I believe?
Why would you be happier if I were lost with you?

**************************************************************************************************************

Writing 201: Poetry
Assignment — Day 5:

Prompt: MAP
Form: Ode
Device: Metaphor

The ode started out as a fairly fixed form in ancient Greece: a three-part stanza written in specific meters. Over the centuries, however, “ode” has become a more general term for any poem celebrating the good qualities of people, objects, places, animals, and personal traits.
A metaphor brings together two terms that aren’t normally connected, yet make sense once they are (its greek roots mean “to carry over”). Unlike its less subtle cousin, the simile, metaphors don’t need connectors like “as” and “like” to link the two things together. They just smash them into each other and hope for the best.

I didn’t do it.  I didn’t write an ode!  It’s got an old ode rhyming scheme.  It looks like a ode.  But it is not celebrating a good quality of anything . . . rather QUESTIONING motives.  It is actually the opposite of an ode, whatever that is.  A dirge?  A lament?
No matter how many times I tried to go back to the ode I started, I came back to this.  I suppose because it was an encounter I had today which left me a bit sad and perplexed.  I can’t understand why someone would fight so hard to disprove something that doesn’t matter to them.

I shall return to the not-so-humble form of ODE someday, maybe this weekend.  But for now, I will retire with this lament on my lips.  🙂  Sigh.

