Let me tell you, sweetheart,
Life for me has been one long luxury cruise.
I’ve dined at the Captain’s table
and danced across the ballroom floor.
I’ve had drinks in the panorama lounge
and facials in the spa.
I’ve played shuffleboard upon the deck
and gambled down below,
Shopped in elite boutiques, lived in royal suites
and had live theatre on the go.
I’ve soaked for hours in a hot tub
and had hors d’oeuvres with French champagne.
I’ve flirted with the deck hands
and hobnobbed with the beau monde.
I’m still floating, darling.
Life for me has been one long luxury cruise.

************************************************************************

NaPoWriMo

 

NaPoWriMo

Day Twenty-Four:  Parody Poem

Today, write a parody or satire based on a famous poem. It can be long or short, rhymed or not. But take a favorite poem of the past, and see if you can’t re-write it on humorous, mocking, or sharp-witted lines.

This assignment was difficult because my favourite poems are not ones I want to parody.
Can you guess (before I tell you) on which poem The Titanic is based?

If you don’t know it, read Langston Hughes’ Mother to Son.  It is brilliant.
I thought the title of my “parody” redeemed it a bit.

 

