Dear Elusive Poem,

I feel you.  You swell within my soul.
But how to get you out?  How to capture you with pen and ink?

In my heart you have rhythm and rhyme;
You have metre and metaphor, metonymy and time.

You tip-toe on little haiku feet;
You skate and fall on your assonance.
You simile and gambol in iambic pentameter.

You are irony strong and euphony vibrant.
You have couplets and triplets in quatrains
and with your elegy wearing sonnets
you stanza in alliteration with sound symbolism.

Swirling and whirling around in my head
I tease you onto the page

but only manage to catch your shadow.

Please come back tomorrow
for another sitting.

Sincerely your servant,

the humble poet

******************************************************************

NaPoWriMo

 

 

Day Fifteen:  Dear Poem,

Write a poem that addresses itself or some aspect of its self (i.e. “Dear Poem,” or “what are my quatrains up to?”; “Couplet, come with me . . .”)

