Write!

What?

I dunno.  Just write.

Why?

Because you’re supposed to.

Who says?

You.  You signed up for this course.  It’s a writing course, so write already.

Right.

Well?

I’m thinking.

And?

I can’t think of anything.

Well — make something up.

Like what?

Like . . . um . . . exploding diamonds.

What?

Exploding diamonds.

What are “exploding diamonds?”

I don’t know.  You’re the artist.  Create!

Exploding diamonds!  Good grief.  Where’d that come from?

Just write already!  Use current events.  Anything!  Love.  War.  Popcorn.

Popcorn.  Really?  Exploding diamonds and popcorn.  Do you want to blow something up?

No!  I am just making suggestions.

Right.  Well, okay.  I think maybe you should go.

Why?

Because I write  better when you’re out of the way.

Gee, thanks!  How am I in the way?

Exploding popcorn?

Okay.  Okay.  I get it.  Just don’t sit here staring at the paper.  Pick up the pencil and write!

Yes, boss!

You can go now.  I’ve picked up the pencil.

Great.   Okay.  Call me when you’re finished.

Right.

Okay.

Bye.

Bye.

 

*************************************************************************

NaPoWriMo

 

 

Day Fourteen: Dialogue.

Write a poem that takes the form of a dialogue.

This is an internal dialogue.  At least, I hope it is internal and nobody hears me talking to myself.  🙂

