Loosen up. Loosen up.
I am tense. Not looking forward to the thirteen hour drive tomorrow. Every one else is in slumberland. I am making Cornish pasties and doing the last load of laundry and still packing and worrying that I will forget something important and gotta write that last little note to the house-sitter and make sure I put the cat food out and wash my hair in the morning, but of course we are driving away at 6 am which means I already have to be up at 5 am to pack the cool box and make the lunches and put in my last minute toiletries. Maybe I should get up at 4 am. Considering it is already 11 pm and I have 23 more minutes for the pasties to bake and 25 more minutes until the laundry is done, I don’t think there is any way that I will be ready to get out of bed at 4.
Loosen up. Loosen up.
Let’s see, I could think about how the internet went off all day and how I didn’t get to read any email or post to my blog or even see what other people were doing. I couldn’t Google (and I needed a recipe for something with chicken and brinjal –which is what people here call eggplant or aubergine or melongene or guinea squash). Funny how some vegetables have so many names. Like zucchini. Here it is called “baby marrow” if it is small (which it usually is) or just “marrow” if it is large (which is usually isn’t –and I thought marrow what was inside of your bones) and it is also called “courgette.” And, the other weird thing about marrow/zucchini/courgette is that it is actually a FRUIT! Yes, indeed. In the strictest sense of the word, zucchini is a fruit. Like tomatoes. I won’t bother to tell you that eggplant is classified as a “berry,” because you wouldn’t believe me, or that it is in the nightshade family and related to the tomato and potato and (wait for it) tobacco! I ended up making a Moroccan Chicken and Eggplant dish, a tagine, but I didn’t have an slivered almonds and had to leave out the coriander (which is also known as dhanya and cilantro Chinese parsley — although to be terribly strict here, coriander refers to the ground seed and cilantro is the green leaves) because Kevin hates cilantro. He said he read a National Geographic article (so it must be true, right?) that said you either LOVE cilantro or you HATE it. No in-between and it is genetic. So he believes he is predisposed to hating “stink weed” (his name for it) and that there is nothing he can do about it. He also hated garlic before he was forced to eat my cooking. Now he just mildly dislikes it.
Loosen up. Loosen up.
I think I am nervous about leaving the house. We had ANOTHER break in last week. I don’t want to come back from H’s graduation and find that someone uninvited has been in our house. I always feel so violated! And angry. And sad. And suspicious. And . . . STOP WORRYING!
Loosen up. Loosen up!
The pasties are smelling good. Cornish pasties. Miners used to eat them for lunch. That is why the crust is so big on the outside of the pie. They’d hold the pie there, eat the thing and then throw away the dirty crust. (Again, this is what I have heard.) I just put cubed beef and potato in mine. I had someone’s once who put in all her left-overs. Spinach, beans, carrots . . . really! Not a meat pie anymore! And definitely not Cornish, right Cornwall? Rutabaga (or turnip) — yes! But all that other stuff — no! Well, those pasties need to come out in a few minutes and it has been 20 minutes of solid writing, during which time I have been able to forget . . . oh, who am I kidding? I don’t feel any looser now than I did 22 minutes ago. BUT I did enjoy avoiding the packing. Because I HAD to write tonight!

***************************************************************************************

writing101

 

 

 

 

 

Day One of Writing 101:  ASSIGNMENT:

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

 

 

