It does not wait; it doesn’t stay.
Dissolving like mist, it rolls away.
The more I chase, the more I care,
The more it vanishes into air.

It never lingers. It is not bold.
It defies my grasp; it escapes my hold.
It does not descend like feathered dew.
It has no pity, displays no rue.

It does not waltz nor do ballet.
It is not docile, it’s quite blasé.
It disappears each time I’m through.
It has no colour, tint or hue.

It does not sing a lullaby.
It laughs and taunts a baby’s cry.
It does not settle (like my cat)
With rhythmic purrs or needled pats.

Then after nights of restless show
It knocks me flat with a merciless blow.

 

************************************************************

NaPoWriMo

 

 

NaPoWriMo
Day One: Poem of Negation

Notes: Today’s prompt is to write a poem that involves describing something in terms of what it is not, or not like. For example, if a whale is the topic of the poem, there might be lines like “It does not settle down in trees at night, cooing/Nor will it fit in your hand.”

 

