I had resided in San Francisco for eleven years, having moved there to attend the state university.  I embraced the City, its diversity, colour, music, life.  After my post-graduate studies I decided to stay and work in the SF school district.  To my delight I got a tenured post fairly rapidly and was employed to teach at a school which was nestled among housing projects.  I was determined to make a difference in the lives of every child who came through my classroom.  I threw myself into work with all the force of a hurricane.  And I loved every minute.

My church family was a vibrant community.  They modelled their lives after the example of Jesus, seeking to love the loveless, lift the downtrodden, comfort the mourning, heal the sick.  Here I was at home, surrounded by people with the same passion and heart, those who desired to live out the implications of the gospel in the city of San Francisco.

One of the more difficult things for me was the issue of dating.  I suppose I would have been viewed as a bit of a prude by some and labeled “old fashioned” by others.  I was so uncomfortable with the whole dating ritual. Occasionally I would accept an invitation to dinner or a show, but there would always be sexual tension at the end of the evening.  I’d had a few steady boyfriends, but I never felt myself with any of them.  I finally made the decision to stop dating all together.

And I remember the night, after trying to explain to a “date” that I liked him well enough and considered him a friend, but didn’t feel any romantic inclination toward him (and he just wouldn’t let go), that I prayed.  I’m not sure of the exact words, but it was something like, “Lord, I am really tired of this dating thing.  I am fulfilled in you.  I don’t need to be in a romantic relationship to be complete.  If you want me to get married, you’d better just bring the guy and plunk him down in front of me and tell me ‘This is the one.’  Otherwise, I am happy, just me. Amen.”

And that is where I was when I met Kevin.

