For the last ten years the Eshowe Art Exhibition has been a real crowd gatherer.  It also helps raise substantial amounts of money for three different charities.  And, most importantly, it showcases the works of our talented local artists.

Held in the infamous George Hotel, artists submit their framed work to the organisers.  Then, on a long Thursday afternoon and evening, each picture is hung, rehung and then hung again until it has found its own special place in the show.  I have watched year-after-year as each artist grows, each slowly discovering their own style, their own interpretation, their own voice.

I love the build up to the opening night, the fancy wine glasses, the decor, the small groups of people clustered together (some discussing the art, others discussing the rugby score), the joy of discovering a piece that captures my breath and the greater joy when I find it is not yet sold and I can afford it.

This year at the close it was announced that there would be no art exhibition in 2015.  At first I didn’t believe the news.  I didn’t want to believe the news.  I love this exhibition.  Then I got angry.  How dare they take it away from the local people who love and support the exhibition year after year, from the humble artists who in trepidation unveil their offerings.

Besides, next year, I’d told myself, I would finally get my act together and put something on show.

 

 

**********************************************************************************************

Today’s Assignment:  Think about an event you’ve attended and loved.  Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever.  How does that make you feel?

Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm.

