Dear Mrs Matina,

Thank you for being my teacher.  I don’t think that you got to pick who was in your class. And I didn’t get to pick you.  But thank you anyway for teaching me.

Mom told me to write this letter to you because it is World Teacher’s Day on the 5th of October.  I didn’t know there was a day for teachers.
Is there a day for ventriloquists? That’s what I want to be.  Do you know what that is?  I saw a guy on TV who was a ventriloquist. I started practicing.  Do you remember that day when you got mad cuz you thought Billy Baker was farting?  That was me being a ventriloquist.  I am getting pretty good.

Mom says there is not very much money in ventriloquism.  That means they don’t get paid very much.  She also says that teachers don’t get paid very much.  She said that if I want to make money then I should be a doctor or a plumber.  I don’t want to be a doctor because I don’t like guts.  And I think Mom was just saying plumber cuz she was yelling last week about how much we had to pay a guy to come fix our toilet.

Anyway, maybe I will be a teacher and a ventriloquist.  Then I could get paid twice.  And I could throw my voice around the classroom and scare the kids.

I think you are a pretty good teacher, Mrs Matina.  Specially when you are not tired and crabby.  You look tired a lot.  Are you tired of telling us that a lot is two words?  See — I remembered. I think Billy Baker must make you the most tired.  He doesn’t remember anything.

Well, I have to go do my homework now so my teacher won’t get crabby.  (Ha ha, that was a joke.)

Happy Teacher’s Day.

From your student,
Greg Hollister

*****************************************************************************************************

Today’s Assignment:  Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration.   Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

My word came from There Was a Country by Chinua Achebe.  There it was, page 29 — “I went home to my village at the end of the holiday and visited a secondary school within my district in Oba near Ogidi.  I asked the principal to give me a job as an English teacher.  And he did!”  Thought it must be fate, what with Sunday being World Teacher’s Day and me being a teacher.

