Argh!
When I am alone there are voices continually yammering in my head. They usually echo the characters who romp about in whatever story I happen to be reading at the time. Sometimes there is one voice, speaking directly to me. Sometimes that voice is narrating my day. Sometimes there are two or more voices having a conversation.

This is so stupid.

Hah! I’d like to see you put THIS on your blog.

Maybe you should start over.

Yes, start over. You’ve only been at it for three minutes. You can do a whole lot better.

Shut up and just write! Just keep writing.

Who cares what you say or how you say it. The point is to write.

Yeah. Don’t worry about whether or not it will be on your blog.

Or who will read it.

NO ONE.

You’re rather pessimistic.

Well, I am bored and I am here while you are writing. Can’t imagine anyone sticking around this long.

I roll my eyes. I think before I post this I will have to change font colour to show the different speakers.

Different speakers! What a goof! It is all you, you know. You are just talking to yourself.

Sigh. Life is rather crowded at the moment. Not in my head, but in my schedule. Goodness, today I didn’t know if I was coming or going.
The best part of today were all the telephone calls.
First call: “Bring back the papers we gave you. It was a mistake. We will bring the papers to you tomorrow.”
Next call: “Call the others and tell them to turn in their papers too.”
Third call: “Did you register for this? I don’t think you registered for this. Maybe you won’t get the papers back at all.”
What a circus!

Check the time. SIX minutes! Really? Feels like I have been writing for hours.

It’s all the voices.

I should go to bed and get a good night’s sleep before tomorrow’s exam. I am so nervous. Weird little butterflies are inside my gut, knocking up against the wall of my abdomen. Makes me feel a bit nauseous. (Maybe that is just a bit of hunger from having skipped dinner?) AND I AM NOT EVEN WRITING THE EXAM! I am administering it.
Oh, gosh, I am so nervous. I am going to have a monitor hovering over while I administer the jolly test.
BLEH! I hope they bring the test papers (that I had to give back to them today) to the test tomorrow.
ON TIME!
One can dream.

My bed will be so soft and welcoming when I get there. I love my crisp, white, clean sheets. And that duvet — that goose-down duvet — AH! It is so deliciously comforting to wrap that baby around myself. Suddenly now I am so tired I can hardly keep my eyes open.

Well, you started writing about your duvet!

And those pillows! My two feather pillows that mould themselves around my head. Snuggle, snuggle, snuggle! I want to go to bed and snuggle down and slowly lose myself to sleep.

I never remember my dreams these days. I know I dream because right before I wake I am wrapped in them (like my duvet around my body, so my dreams wrap and hold my subconscious). But by the time I am fully conscious, the dreams seem to have evaporated like so much mist in the hot sun. I believe that if I could wake slowly and gently, then I would remember my dreams. But there is that awful blare of K’s alarm every morning. and on weekends it is the radio from 4 AM.

I wish I could choose my dreams. Like Sophie in BFG. Mix one part of this with two parts of that and a happy dragon and a fuzzy caterpillar and a peanut farmer . . . and POOF! you have a wonderfully fun and adventurous dream.

Okay — that is it! Time’s up.
Whew.
Hard to begin. Difficult to stop.

Bedtime. Let me go introduce myself to my dreams. G’night.

 

(Today’s assignment:  To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.
Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.)

