The more they change
the more they change
the more they stay the same.
I can’t keep up
I can’t keep up
I watch it come undone.

I wanna write    I wanna write    I wanna right it all
but things that change they stay the same
and time does not avail.

I long for sleep  –  heavy eyes  –  and yet when down I lie
rest alludes and thoughts, they spin like planets ’round a sun.

Where am I?   I lost myself
while looking at the stars.
A subatomic particle,
lightning in a jar.

I am no one, I am no one,
I am every man.
The more they change, the more they change,
the more I know they can.

 

napo2014button2

 

 

 

 

NaPoWriMo
Day 25

Today’s prompt is to use anaphora, a literary term for the practice of repeating certain words or phrases at the beginning of multiple clauses or, in the case of a poem, multiple lines.  I didn’t follow directions perfectly, but it is late and the pillow beckons.  Some days are like that, even in Australia.

