Alter my consciousness, give me a by.

Set me to siesta on a starry sea.

Wink forty times and shut my eye.

 

Hypno-somn me, into La-la-land slip.

Power down my processor, turn out my light

Take me to Morpheus; crash, snooze, kip.

 

Just let me sleep through the night.

 

 

napo2014button2

 

 

NaPoWriMo
Day 15

Today’s prompt is to write a poem in terza rima. This form was invented by Dante, and used in The Divine Comedy. It consists of three-line stanzas, with a “chained” rhyme scheme. The first stanza is ABA, the second is BCB, the third is CDC, and so on. No particular meter is necessary, but English poets have tended to default to iambic pentameter (iambic pentameter is like the Microsoft Windows of English poetry). One common way of ending a terza rima poem is with a single line standing on its own, rhyming with the middle line of the preceding three-line stanza.

I am actually too sleepy to do this poem justice.  Another work in process.  🙂

 

 

crash, zizz, kip

