Grampa grew up in the days when you made your own entertainment.
No television, computers, video games or cellphones – just imagination, conversation and radio.
I remember the few times Grampa and Gramma took us “to the cabin” on vacation.
We’d travel for hours (seemed like days to us, but was probably closer to four hours).
Grampa would entertain us and lead us in the singing of silly songs.
We’d chant “99 bottles of beer on the wall,”  warble about marching ants, and laugh through choruses of monkeys and goats.

My favourites went like this:

“Ain’t gonna rain no more, no more.
Ain’t gonna rain no more.
How in the heck can I wash my neck
If it ain’t gonna rain no more?”

“Peanut sittin’ on a railroad track;
his heart was all a-flutter.
Train came from around the bend:
Toot! Toot! Peanut butter.”

“Oh, the lady in the bathtub,
she was so skinny, you know,
that when she let the water out
she went right down the hole.”

Grampa sang silly songs LONG before there was a cucumber named Larry who sang them.
I, in turn, taught silly songs to my kids and (Lord-willing) will be a Gramma who sings silly songs!

“Do your ears hang low; do they wobble to and fro?  Can you tie them in a knot?  Can you tie them in a bow . . .”

“I’m a nut . . . I’m a nut . . . I’m a nut!!

