The preacher spoke at length.
But I only heard the first sentence.
Those few words began a sermon in me
which has been weaving a song around my heart for the better part of the day.

“The value of a thing lies in the hands of the one who holds it.”

A cello in the hands of Yo-yo Ma.
A golf club in the hands of Ernie Els.
A pen in the hands of Steinbeck.
A brush in the hands of Picasso.

Apart from the master, the instruments are silent.

It was as if THE Master whispered to my soul:
“Let me hold you in my hands!”

And after a period of delighting in that thought,
I heard:
“What do you hold in your hands?”

I looked down and saw a small piece of chalk.
How could this be of value?

If I am in His hands
whatever is in my hands
belongs to Him.

And I can be
the best teacher I can be
because I am in His hands.

The value of a thing lies in the hands of the one who holds it.

Hold me fast, Lord Jesus, and don’t let go!

