I’m a Mac Junkie, and an Apple Addict!
Well, in my heart, not necessarily in my means.

 

I was one of those who spent money she didn’t have
(and less than others because Apple was good to teachers)
to own an Apple IIe in 1984.
It boasted DuoDisk drive (that’s floppy disks for you young’uns),
128 whopping kilobytes of RAM (a doubling of the original 64!)
and white text on a nifty black screen
that could be tilted up or down in its casing.

 

 

I loved it!
I called it Pippin (after the apple and the Tolkien character)
because I give names to what I love.

Here I am, 27 years and another continent later,
with an iMac and an iPhone.
(It took Apple a while to follow me to Africa.)
And I love them as much as I loved my first bite!

Today Apple is page one of everybody’s news
due to the sad and untimely death of Steve Jobs.

Reading some of the millions of tributes that are flying across the internet
makes me realise how much this one man influenced our world.
Someone said that if it hadn’t been Steve Jobs, it would have been someone else.
Undoubtably so.

Steve Jobs took flying leaps of faith, with his proverbial eggs in the basket,
like lots of other people do everyday.
The thing that makes his risks so newsworthy is that he mostly landed on his feet.
And when he did have an ungraceful meeting with Terra Firma,
he picked himself up and started again.
He was more determined than anything to get it right.
He had a vision of beautiful design – simple elegance together with excellent performance.
And that is what he sold us.

At his passing we get quick reviews of his life, the highlights, the noteworthy events.
We get the rise from obscurity to wonder-man in 60 seconds.
What we don’t get is all the painstaking days and weeks and months and years of hard work —
the pushing, the tenacity, the pig-headed stubbornness,  the heart-aches, the let-downs, the giving-it-all-up,
over and over and over again.
And we certainly hardly ever get all the other people who caught the vision and pushed just as hard to get it done!
From his partners to his employees, from his supporters to his opponents, from his colleagues to his family,
Steve would be the first one to say (I’m sure) that he didn’t do it alone.

To make a dream a reality, we need each other.
From the visionary to the investor,
from the technician to the consumer,
we all play our part.

As I type on my “PippinToo”
I am celebrating the work of Steve Jobs
in bringing a dream of elegant efficiency
to reality
and looking again
at the interconnectivity of our lives.

 

