Jon Foreman has written some stunningly poignant lyrics.
If you haven’t heard any of the songs released on his ‘season’ EPs
(Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer)
I encourage you to do so.

Learning How to Die” is the first song on  the Winter EP.
Here are some of my favourite lines:

All along
Thought I was learning how to take,
How to bend not how to break,
How to laugh, not how cry;
But really, I’ve been learning how to die
.”

We spend our lives on earth dying
and fighting death.
Somehow,
although no one but God has ever beaten it,
we think if we try hard enough,
if we ignore it, pretend it isn’t there, suppress it,
we may just cheat it.
But it finds us all in the end.
Some sooner than later.

Jesus taught those who followed him to embrace death.
If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself
and take up his cross and follow me
.”

These were shocking words to those who heard.
The cross meant death (and not a fast or easy one).
He went on to say:
For whoever wants to save his life will lose it,
but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

Jesus was telling them to let go.

From the moment we take our first breath
we are thinking about ourselves.
I need . . . I want . . . I am . . .
It is so engrained in us, so much a part of who we are,
that NOTHING we do is without self.
It is like asking the grass to turn red.
It is the nature of grass to be green.
Green is part of what grass is.
And so are we with our “ME-ness.”
We cannot be severed from our “me-centredness.”
It is our nature.

But it is not how we were originally designed to be.
We were meant to be God-centred.

Jesus says that only in dying to ourselves
can we be the people we were meant to be.
Only by dying can we come alive.
If our fingers are tightly clutching one thing
we cannot grasp another thing without first letting go of what is in our hands.

God offers us life, real life, the life we were always meant to live, life in him.
But we cannot be self-centred and God-centred at the same time.

I am learning how to die.
It is not easy, because I fight it all the time.
But when I finally surrender and let go,
I am blessed beyond measure.

His life is good and whole, wonderful and awesome.

Shower your grace down upon me, Lord,
and keep teaching me how to die!

