I was asked:

“What is it like to live an ordinary day
with the secret knowledge and hope
that indescribable Glory is coming at any moment?”

Interesting question.
Challenging.
Why?
For me, because it reveals:
1)  my days are ordinary
2)  my faith is secret
3)  I am continually surprised that Christ is coming again

Ouch!

If my faith is a living thing,
if my relationship with God in Christ is vital,
not one of my days would be ordinary
and everyone I know would know that I know
“that indescribable Glory!”

Well,
there’s my new prayer:

O Lord,
this day
(like all days)
is your day.
and because it is your day
there is nothing ordinary about it!
I wait eagerly for you,
expectantly;
and as I wait,
let me be a shining light for you
so that the knowledge of you
is spread
throughout this not-so-ordinary day!

Our God is God of wonders and majesty.
He delights,
as most fathers do,
in tossing his children
high in the sky
and catching them
in strong, loving arms
on the way down.

I am going to wake up
tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow
with yes on my lips,
yes in my heart,
yes to the exceptional.

For no matter how many promises God has made,
they are “Yes” in Christ.
And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.

(2 Corinthians 1:20)

No more ordinary for this girl.
Amen!

****************************************************************

Linking today with Bonnie and others at the Faith Barista Jam:

