“Life is a journey, not a destination.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Life is a journey; enjoy the ride.”
– Nissan commercial

I have thought a lot about journeys of late.

My life on this earth is like a journey.
It began at my birth and will conclude with my death.

A journey usually has purpose and destination.
Without these a journey is merely hapless wandering.

I have been comparing my life’s journey to the journey of the hobbits in Lord of the Rings.
(I find that I often behave like a certain beloved Took!)

  • Their journey had significant meaning.
  • They were compelled by love to go together.
  • Their journey branched off and led individuals on different paths, but still, all with the same purpose.
  • None of them could see beyond the moment.  If they had been able to taste
    the pain and heartache which awaited them, they may not have set out at all. But at the end of the journey (and many times on the road) the joy was worth the suffering.
  • It was the journey, the hard work of putting one foot in front of the other when each step is agony, that shaped them and made them.
  • Being true to the goal led to victory.
  • They didn’t always get it right and they weren’t perfect, but they kept going.
  • Good fellowship makes the journey joyful and bearable.
    Each and every member of the party needed the help of the others.

So, here is my proffered two-penneth:

“Life is a journey with a destination.
The destination will determine the ride.
Though the purpose be clear, the road will not always be visible.
Faithful fellowship is essential.”
– Loreen

Oh, and I almost forgot:

“Music helps lift the heart, so be sure you’ve packed your ipod!”

